ALM versioning during bulk operations

Creating many records in ALM (Application Lifecycle Management) by copying, importing, or enabling version control on project will result in the following behavior – the first version will be auto-generated when the entity version info is requested for the first time, e.g. one user attempts to view the versions, or check out the entity.

This behavior will be noticed only when performing bulky operations with entities. Here is a more detailed how flow of the process:

If Person A does the copy or import and Person B reviews the data (without checking out/in) then the record’s initial version contains the info of Person B as the actor.

This is true, for the “History/Versions and Baselines” part, because person B is the one who first requests the version info. However, the “History/Audit Log” (another mechanism not related to versioning) should contain the original information, i.e., the changes made by person A. It can provide another way for tracking changes, rather than versioning.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s