Newly learned objects will be added to the local repository
From the QuickTest Professional User’s Guide:
QuickTest does not add an object to the shared object repository as you record operations on it. Instead, it adds new objects to the local object repository (not the shared object repository) as you learn objects or record steps on them (unless those same objects already exist in an associated shared object repository).
You can find additional information on the local object repository versus the shared object repository in the User’s Guide (Help -> QuickTest Professional Help -> QuickTest Professional User’s Guide -> Creating Tests -> Working with Test Objects -> Understanding Object Repository Types -> Deciding Whether to Use Local or Shared Object Repositories).
This is done by design to prevent confusion and corruption. Since shared repositories are shared across multiple tests, an unfamiliar user can unknowingly corrupt the shared repository by recording new objects over existing object descriptions. Also, QuickTest Professional 9.0 and above allows you to associate multiple shared object repository files with each action. QuickTest Professional would not know which shared object repository file the new objects should be learned into.
To avoid these scenarios, the objects are added to the local repository and you can then merge them into the shared repository of your choice.